Friday, July 31, 2015

The Third Noble Truth: Cessation

The Third Noble Truth is the cessation of dukkha, or suffering.  After learning about suffering and how it is brought on, Buddha focused on finding ways to end this negative condition. He devoted six years to the process and eventually discovered a solution that can be obtained by anyone at any time, no matter where […]

Animal Death Beliefs and Rituals in Buddhism

Buddhism is based on the teachings of Siddhartha Gautama, also known as the Buddha or Awakened One. Followers strive to attain enlightenment through the Four Noble Truths and Dependent Origination. Buddhists also have specific beliefs related to animals, which are considered sentient beings with the potential for enlightenment. Animals are thought to inhabit a separate […]

The Second Noble Truth: The Origin of Suffering

Buddha’s Second Noble Truth is the origin of dukkha, or suffering. He realized that there was no way to end suffering if its cause was not known.

Samsara in Buddhism

The concept of Samsara in Buddhism teaches that human beings have the ultimate control over themselves.

Stupas in the Buddhist religion

Stupas in the Buddhist religion are a symbol best defined as a spiritual monument. Stupas are small enough to place on a mantle or are huge buildings. The structure is a symbol of the path to enlightenment which encompasses the Buddha’s body, teachings and mind.

The Bodhi Tree

The Bodhi Tree: uniting all worlds The life of Siddartha Gautama, the Buddha, is central to Buddhist tradition. It has a mythic status. And in that story we find one of the most important Buddhist symbols: the Bodhi Tree. There are many variations of the myth surrounding it. The legend of the Buddha is well […]

All About Karma

Karma is a term that many people are familiar with but relatively few people understand. They might tell you that karma is when people get what they deserve. Good things happen to good people, while bad things happen to bad people. That’s a very simplified version of the concept of karma, but it isn’t terribly far […]

Three Marks of Existence

A simple form of the Buddha’s teaching is found in the Four Noble Truths. The first of these is the doctrine of dukkha: there is suffering. The Three Marks of Existence provide a deeper understanding of what is meant by dukkha. These three characteristics of existence are accepted by all schools of Buddhism. The first […]

All About Nirvana

In the Buddhist religion, Nirvana is the ultimate place of happiness and tranquility. Once one reaches Nirvana, they experience nothing but bliss. Everything is perfect and they have complete peace of mind. There is no evil and no suffering whatsoever. Every Buddhist spends their life trying to get closer and closer to reaching Nirvana. It […]

The meanings of the different colors of the lotus flower in Buddhism

The lotus flower has eight petals which correspond to the Eightfold Path of Good Law. It is one of the most common symbols of Buddhism and represents the stages of enlightenment.

Next Page »